top of page



Max Perutz PRIZE

The Max Perutz Prize is awarded in recognition of meritorious achievements in any branch of crystallography by a crystallographer having a clear affiliation with the ECA region and being an individual member of the ECA. It can be for leadership or scientific contributions or both.


The twelfth Max Perutz Prize of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA)  is awarded to Professor William (Bill) Clegg from the School of  Natural and Environmental Sciences at Newcastle University, United Kingdom.
The ward will be handed to William Clegg during the opening ceremony of ECM33 by the chair of the Max Perutz Prize Committee and Marijana Đaković, president of the European Crystallographic Association.
William (Bill) Clegg receives the Perutz Prize for his outstanding contributions to crystallography by the development and exploitation of small-molecule and inorganic single crystal diffraction at synchrotron  beamlines for the advancement of science and by his continuous and extraordinary commitment to crystallographic education.
A more elaborate report of Bill Clegg's career is available on the website of the  European Crystallograpic Association (

Bill Clegg will give the Perutz prize lecture on "Communicating Crystallography" right after the opening ceremony of the 33th European Crystallographic Meeting on August 23th in Versailles, France : 

Communicating Crystallography, Bill Clegg

What, may we ask, is the point of doing research at all unless we show and explain to others what we have done?"  This is the final sentence in an article I wrote for the IUCr Newsletter in 2020.  It was specifically about the question why so many crystal structures don't get published, but it applies more generally to our work as crystallographers, in research, teaching and training, and public engagement.  All scientists should be good communicators, whether that be to our colleagues, collaborators, other scientists, employers, funders, students, or the general public.  Effective communication has been an important part of much of the work I have done over about 50 years, and this presentation will explore some of those facets.

Bill Clegg.png
Bertaut Prize.JPG

Bertaut PRIZE

The Eleventh Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) is awarded to Dr Lukáš Gajdos from the Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble, France.

The prize is awarded to Lukáš Gajdos in recognition of his exceptional research on  the characterisation of the interaction of lectins with sugars by neutron diffraction and all the experimental difficulties that he has overcome to obtain these results.

Lukáš Gajdos will present his research "Neutron diffraction for deciphering protein-carbohydrate interactions in bacterial infection" at the next European Crystallographic meeting in Versailles, France, on Thursday 25 August 2022, at 18:00.

Lukáš Gajdos.png
Kalman prize.JPG

Alajos Kálmán PRIZE

The International Kálmán Prize preserves the memory of the late Alajos Kálmán, an eminent scientist in the field of chemical crystallography. The Prize is established by the Hungarian Chemical Society and is endorsed by European Crystallographic Association (ECA). The ECA awards the Alajos Kálmán Prize twice in a three-year cycle (year of the General Assembly of the IUCr excluded) at the European Crystallographic Meetings (ECMs). The Prize will be awarded to an individual researcher in recognition for outstanding scientific contributions in the field of structural sciences within the last 5-10 years. The prize consists of a medal and a financial award and the awardee delivers a Prize Lecture at the ECM.


The second Alajos Kálmán Prize of the Hungarian Chemical Society,  endorsed by the European Crystallographic Association (ECA),  is awarded to Prof Éric Collet from the Institute of Physics in Rennes, France.
Éric Collet performs his inspirational interdisciplinary research at the interface of material science, chemistry and physics with crystallography at the very heart of his work. Prof Collet is one of the pioneers who paved the way for the subsequent studies in the greatly innovative field of X-ray free electron lasers science. He and his collaborators made high impact studies of ultra-fast femto second experiments, ultra-fast photo excitations like photo induced structural dynamics, phase transitions and molecular switching.
His outstanding achievement is based on the structural study of molecular complexes and new transition mechanisms, going from the molecular to the crystalline scale.

Prof Collet is expected to give his award lecture on "The key role of crystallography in the understanding of magnetic molecular materials"  the European Crystallographic Meeting in Versailles between 12:00-12:30 on Thursday, 25th August 2022.

bottom of page